So banned books week is here again. Rather than write a long post about how banning a book makes it more appealing (especially to the young’uns) and how these become some of the most beloved pieces of literature and how banning a book might as well be sacrilege, I would like to pose a question to you instead.

What is your favorite banned book? Did you read one particular book when you were younger that left a profound impact on you? Did you ever read a book “so bad” that you hid it from the rest of the people in your house? I did! Share your experiences and let’s cherish all those fantastic pieces of taboo literature together!

2 thoughts on “Banned Books Week

  1. One of my favorite challenged books is 1984. Coupled with Clockwork Orange and a few other Burgess/Orwell/Vonnegut books I had the Catholic School teachers in a tizzy as early as 6th grade. My mom was so proud…(seriously, she was!)

    I still love Vonnegut. His books scare me, amuse me, and make me think. He’s a lil’ crazy, no?

  2. Man, that is a toughie! My most recent favorite is Sherman Alexie’s “The Absoutely True Diary of a Part Time Indian,” which may not have been banned, but I believe it was the most challenged book in 2010. Right now I am reading “Farenheit 451” by Ray Bradbury to celebrate banned books week!

Leave a Reply

